Body type (rtf, html, plain text)

Oct 14, 2010 at 5:49 AM

Hello,

I'm new to the sdk and I was trying to retrieve the body of a message. The only functions I see are get_body and get_html_body but there is none for RTF or MIME type. So I tried retrieving them individually the following way but I don't see valid contents for rtf and mime.  How to identify the body type so that I can retrieve the appropriate body property?

if (m.get_property_bag().prop_exists(0x1000)) wstrBody = m.get_property_bag().read_prop<std::wstring>(0x1000);
if (m.get_property_bag().prop_exists(0x1009)) wstrBody = m.get_property_bag().read_prop<std::wstring>(0x1009);
if (m.get_property_bag().prop_exists(0x1013)) wstrBody = m.get_property_bag().read_prop<std::wstring>(0x1013);
if (m.get_property_bag().prop_exists(0x6659)) wstrBody = m.get_property_bag().read_prop<std::wstring>(0x6659);

Thanks in advance.

Coordinator
Oct 14, 2010 at 5:54 AM

It's complicated.

Read up on the "best body" algorithm described in MSDN. Basically the various body types (plain text, html, and rtf) are kept in sync as requested by the client and as the properties are set on the object by the client.

Oct 14, 2010 at 6:25 AM

Thanks for the quick response terrymah. That was helpful. I have another question though. I have an html body in the original message and when i retrieve it through get_html_body call, it returns me some garbage but it returns a valid body through get_body call but the original format of the html message is missing so it looks more like plain text, all pictures in original message are gone. The same is the case if I retrieve them individually using read_prop like mentioned above. Am I doing anything wrong?

Thanks.

Oct 16, 2010 at 4:21 AM

That's due to a naive implementation of read_prop<std::wstring> in object.h (line 329). 

Basically, it goes like this: