Compile issues

Apr 26, 2011 at 12:52 AM

Sorry for what is probably a dumb question - I'm just getting started with using PSTSDK and I cannot compile a test program. I'm using VC++ Express version 10.   I have the PSTSDK and BOOST directories in the compiler include path.  VC has no problem compiling the headers, but I get a compile error about "pst" being an undeclared identifier:

#include "pstsdk\pst\pst.h" int_tmain(int argc, _TCHAR* argv[])

pst p(L"c:/junk/txtesting.pst" 

);  

}

COMPILE ERRORS ...

1>c:\junk\testproj\testproj\testproj.cpp(11): error C2065: 'pst' : undeclared identifier

1>c:\junk\testproj\testproj\testproj.cpp(11): error C2146: syntax error : missing ';' before identifier 'p'

1>c:\junk\testproj\testproj\testproj.cpp(11): error C3861: 'p': identifier not found

{

printf("Starting open of .pst file\n" 

);

Coordinator
Apr 26, 2011 at 3:08 AM

The pst object is declared in the "pstsdk" namespace (as are all other objects in the sdk), so you'll either need to say:

pstsdk::pst p(L"myfile.pst");

Or at the top of your source file put:

using namespace pstsdk;

Apr 26, 2011 at 8:24 PM

Thanks.  Again, sorry for asking C++ questions in this forum, but I have primarily been doing 'C' and a lot of this is new to me.  Hopefully this is the last of them:

I am trying to put the declaration of the store inside a try/catch so that I do not get a runtime error if the supplied .pst name is invalid.  This works, but then VC does not recognize the store name if I use it later:

try {

pst store(wpath);

}

catch (exception& e) {

printf("Cannot open .pst file");

return;

}

process_folder(0, store.open_root_folder());

This last statement generates the compile error "identifier store is undefined".  If I get rid of the try/catch it works.  How do I define 'store' in advance so that VC knows about it?

Coordinator
Apr 26, 2011 at 9:44 PM